CHP: New Laws Affecting Drivers, Cyclists and Public Safety
The California Highway Patrol (CHP) has recently issued a press release about new traffic and public safety laws impacting motorists and cyclists in California. Some of these laws are going into effect on January 1, 2016. Listed below are the new laws and the information you need to know.
Child Safety Seats (AB 53, Garcia): Starting in January 1, 2017, children under two years of age must ride rear-facing in an appropriate passenger safety seat. Children weighing 40 or more pounds or standing 40 or more inches tall would be exempt.
Hit-and-Run (AB 8, Gatto): Beginning on January 1, 2016, a “Yellow Alert” notification system will be established for specific hit-and-run incidents resulting in serious injury or death.
Driving Under The Influence: Ignition Interlock Device (SB 61, Hill): A new law will grant a one-year extension to the pilot project for the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento and Tulare counties.
Silver Alerts (AB 643, Nazarian): The “Silver Alert” notification system has been amended to allow the alert to be communicated on CMS when there is a vehicle involved.
Highway Lane Use (AB 208, Bigelow): As of January 1, 2016, the law requiring slow-moving passenger vehicles to pull over safely to let traffic pass has been amended to apply to all vehicles, including bicycles.
Electronically motorized boards (AB 604, Olsen): The new law defines “electronically motorized boards” as wheeled devices designed to be stood on and powered by electronic propulsion, going no more than 15 miles per hour. They can only be ridden on a highway with a speed limit of 35 miles per hour or less, or designated bikeways. Riders must be at least 16 years old and wear a bicycle helmet. Cities and counties can restrict usage areas.
Electric Bicycles (AB 1096, Chiu): Beginning January 1, 2016, there will be three separate classes of electric bicycles, depending upon their maximum speed and motor power. Class one and two have a max speed of 20 miles per hour. Class three bicycles have a max speed of 28 miles per hour and riders must be at least 16 years old and wear a helmet. There will also be safety restrictions and regulation for access on trails and paths.