CHP Gets Grant to Improve Child Safety
The California Highway Patrol (CHP) just issued a press release about a grant they received to help improve child safety over the next year. Sadly, motor vehicle crashes are still the leading cause of death for children in California and throughout the U.S. Officials with the CHP hope to reduce the number of crash-related injuries to children during their yearlong grant-funded campaign aimed at raising awareness about child passenger safety.
The California Restraint Safety Education and Training (CARSEAT) IV grant is providing funding to the CHP over the next 12 months. This money will go towards putting together seminars and new parent classes to help reduce the number of deaths due to unrestrained and improperly restrained children involved in motor vehicle wrecks.
Properly Securing Child Passengers
Child passenger safety needs to be a top priority for parents and caregivers. Under California law, children are required to be properly secured into a safety seat, in the second row of a vehicle, when available, until they are at least eight years old. Children who are at least eight or older, who are at least 4 feet, 9 inches in height, may ride in the back seat of a vehicle in a properly fitted seat belt. Children under the age of two must ride rear-facing or until they reach 40 pounds or 40 inches in height.
If you want to get your child’s car seat inspected for free, contact your local CHP area office. A trained car seat safety technician can also show you how to properly adjust the straps and seat to make sure your child is buckled in safely. During the pandemic, the CHP is still conducting in-person classes in accordance with local public health guidelines, but they’re also holding online seminars.
Improving Child Passenger Occupant Safety in California
Improving child passenger occupant safety starts will educating parents and caregivers on how to properly secure children in age and size appropriate car seats. Buckling up and making sure children are properly buckled up are the best ways to protect yourself and your loved ones in the event of a crash.
If your child has been injured in a crash involving a dangerous or distracted driver in San Diego or anywhere in Southern California, contact the skilled and proven team at Harris Personal Injury Lawyers, Inc. at 1.800.GO.HARRIS for a free case consultation today.