Officials with the California Highway Patrol (CHP) are currently highlighting several new roadway safety laws. The CHP just issued a press release about new laws approved by the California Legislature in 2018. Many of these new laws will impact roadway safety in various aspects. From bicycle hit-and-run crashes to helmet use on motorized scooters, the CHP is getting the word out about the new roadway safety laws that California motorists need to know about.
Bicycle Hit-and-Run on Bike Path (AB 1755, Steinorth)
The provisions of the felony hit-and-run law are extended to cyclists on Class I bike-ways (bike paths). This means a driver involved in a collision resulting in death or injury to another party is required to stop at the scene. This law now clarifies that it applies to Class I bike-ways as well as roadways.
Bicycle Helmets (AB 3077, Caballero)
People under age 18 not wearing a helmet on a bicycle, scooter, skateboard or skates will receive a “fix-it” ticket. This is a non-punitive citation that is correctable if proof that the minor has completed a bicycle safety course and has a helmet that meets safety standards is presented within 120 days of citation.
Helmet Use on Motorized Scooters (AB 2989, Flora)
Bicycle helmets are no longer required for riders of motorized scooters who are age 18 or older. Motorized scooters may operate within a Class IV bike-way as well as Class II bike-way and on highways with speeds up to limits of 25 miles per hour. Local jurisdictions can still limit scooters on highways with speed limits up to 35 miles per hour. It is still illegal to operate a motorized scooter on a sidewalk.
Certain Vehicle Exhaust Violations Are No Longer Correctable (AB 1824, Committee on Budget)
A fine will become mandatory, not correctable, when loud motor vehicles and motorcycles are cited.
Passing Waste Service Vehicles (AB 2115, Santiago)
When approaching or overtaking a refuse collection vehicle with amber flashing lights, drivers must move into an adjacent lane, if possible, and pass at a safe distance. If it’s not possible, drivers must slow down to provide safety for sanitation workers.
If you have been injured or if you have lost a loved one in a car accident caused by a dangerous or negligent driver in California, contact the skilled and proven team at Harris Personal Injury Lawyers, Inc. at 1.800.GO.HARRIS for a free case consultation today.