Child Passenger RestraintCHP on Child Passenger Restraint

The California Highway Patrol (CHP) just issued a press release about their ongoing efforts to make child passenger restraint a continued priority. Currently, the CHP is partnered up with the California Office of Traffic Safety for the implementation of the California Restraint Safety Education and Training (CARSEAT) III campaign. This yearlong campaign is focused on reducing the number of unrestrained and improperly restrained children killed in traffic crashes in California each year.

This campaign will include educational seminars, classes and child safety seat inspections. Additionally, there will be a special emphasis on the importance of child passenger restraint and seat belt usage. Parents and caregivers will also be provided with various educational opportunities to learn how to properly install car seats.

 

Child Passenger Safety Laws in California

In California, children are required to be properly restrained in an appropriate car seat in the rear seat of a vehicle until they are at least eight years old. When children are eight years or older and are at least four feet nine inches tall, they can ride in the rear seat of a vehicle with a properly fitting seat belt.

Children under the age of two have to ride in a rear-facing child safety seat until they reach 40 pounds or 40 inches in height. Parents are encouraged to keep children in rear-facing seats as long as possible, until they reach the upper weight and height limits of their car seats. This offers small children the most protection in the event of a crash.

 

Keeping Kids Safe on California Roadways

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) reports that car seats reduce the risk of fatal injury by 71 percent for infants and 54 percent for toddlers in passenger vehicles. During the yearlong CARSEAT campaign, officials with the CHP will be working to raise awareness about the importance of using appropriately sized and installed child safety seats. They always offer free inspections and installations, so don’t hesitate to contact your local CHP office for an appointment. Parents and caregivers are reminded that car seats are only effective when they’re the right size for the child and properly installed.

If you have been injured or if you have lost a loved one in a car accident in San Diego or anywhere along the Central Coast, contact the skilled and proven team at Harris Personal Injury Lawyers, Inc. at 1.800.GO.HARRIS for a free case consultation today.

© Harris Personal Injury Lawyers, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Some images on this site are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution Share-Alike 2.0 License and a Attribution 2.0 License. WP Maintenance