One Reason a Personal Injury Lawyer Will Not Take Your Case
The beginning stages of hiring an attorney may have you feeling anxious and nervous. You’ve likely already gone through a traumatic experience, and now you are not sure of how to proceed with filing a claim after sustaining an injury; that’s okay!
If you are unsure about how to file a personal injury claim or are apprehensive about hiring an attorney to represent you, relax! Harris Personal Injury Lawyers, Inc. has a dedicated, knowledgeable, and experienced legal team here to guide you through what can be an overwhelming process.
Not sure if you have grounds for a claim against the responsible party’s insurance company? Worry no more. Our legal team is here to guide you.
All of your hesitations and can be answered by the attorneys at Harris Personal Injury Lawyers in a free case evaluation.
One important question that should be asked and answered early on is “How long do I have to bring a personal injury claim against the party that caused my injuries?” Time is of the essence when pursuing a personal injury claim because of a legal restriction called the statute of limitations. A statute of limitations is the legally defined time-limit in which a person is allowed to bring a claim against another; if a person fails to bring a claim during that time-frame, the claim is lost and can no longer be pursued. Every state has different statute of limitations laws, so it is important to contact a seasoned attorney who is not only knowledgeable of the state laws, but also has years of successful trial experience representing accident victims.
What is the statute of limitations for personal injury in California?
The amount of time that has passed since your accident occurred may be one reason a personal injury lawyer won’t take your case. California’s statutes of limitations range from 6 months to 10 years. The time clock begins the day the accident occurs. The length of the statute of limitations generally depends on the type of accident, the parties involved, and other case-specific facts.
If you contact a law firm too long after the accident has passed, the chances of a law firm representing your case are slim. Further, if you file a lawsuit after the statute of limitations has passed, your case will most likely be dismissed. Again, time is of the essence and it is better to be safe than sorry and call a personal injury lawyer as soon as you can after an accident.
Why let Harris Personal Injury Lawyers represent your claim?
- We Will Help Document Your Recovery: At Harris Personal Injury Lawyers, our job is to make sure every client is on the best path to recovery. Thus, part of our job is making sure that every client is receiving the right medical care, treatment, and attention needed to further his or her physical recovery. To make things even easier, we keep track of all medical bills on our clients behalves so that they can focus all their energy on getting their health back after the accident.
- We Won’t Let You Miss Deadlines: At Harris Personal Injury Lawyers, we make sure everything is done on time. Your lawsuit, if filed, won’t get thrown out of court due to a missed deadline.
- Our Accident Attorneys Will Not Accept Unfair Settlements: It is common for an insurance company to low-ball you and offer you an unfair settlement. Your attorney at Harris Personal Injury Lawyers will guide you in the right direction and help you calculate all possible damages to maximize your recovery before you accept any offer.
Call 1-800-GO-HARRIS today!
If you are unsure as to what the statute of limitations is for your accident, contact one of our experienced accident attorneys today.